Elizabeth Tan – (Swinging With The Finkels – 2011).

I recently got the opportunity to talk to ‘Coronation Street’ star Elizabeth Tan about her new film, ‘Swinging With The Finkels’. Here, Elizabeth talks about how she got involved in the project and how she got into acting…

Hey Elizabeth. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Swinging With The Finkels’ is in UK cinemas right now. What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

It’s about a married couple that decides to try “swinging” as a means to reignite their relationship.

How would you say this film is different from other comedies released this year?

Well it deals with the topic of “swinging” in a humorous way which I have not seen done before.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place? What made you say ’Yes’?

My agent sent me to see the casting director and director. I read for the role and was offered the part. It certainly was a fun character to play!

Tell us a bit about the character you play and her role within the film…

I play a rather feisty and opinionated manicurist /pedicurist who advises the characters (played by Mandy Moore, Melissa George and their respective partners Martin Freeman and Jonathan Silverman) about love, sex and relationships.

The film stars Mandy Moore, Martin Freeman and Melissa George – what was it like working with the cast and crew?

They were all fantastic to work with and we had a lot of fun with the scenes! I recall Martin Freeman had quite nice hands and feet whilst I was working on his mani-pedi! Haha!

Let’s talk a bit about you Elizabeth. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I have always loved the idea of stepping into another character and understanding them. I also love communicating and telling a story that moves audiences. It’s very rewarding! And fun!!

What advice would you give to any UK actors who wanted to get into the industry?

It’s a really tough industry so you should probably make sure you are in it for the right reasons. If you love being creative with characters, have an active desire to understand people and have a passion for acting and connecting with others, then, you have a good mindset to begin. But if you are merely pursuing celebrity and money, you may be in for a rough ride.

Of course, many people may know you as Xin Proctor in ‘Coronation Street’….how does it feel to have worked on such a British institution?

It has been such a privilege to be on ‘Coronation Street’ as it’s such an iconic show with millions of viewers and an amazing team. It is special to be part of something that touches and entertains so many people.

You made an appearance in ‘Doctor Who’ as Anna Zhou in Journey’s End – what was it like working on the show?

It was very exciting!! ‘Doctor Who’ is another truly phenomenal series. It’s so dynamic and has such a strong international following. I am very proud to be part of it.

What does a Elizabeth Tan day usually consist of?

It’s quite hard to say what is “usual” due to the nature of this industry and being an actress. I find myself doing all kinds of different things from day-to-day. It could include: filming on locations, going to events, meetings with directors and producers, writing, practicing my martial arts, workshopping scripts or just hanging around with friends on a quiet day. But I do like it! You never get bored!!

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

Whilst I have really enjoyed doing an exciting storyline on TV with ‘Coronation Street’, I am now keen to do some films and theatre (which is where I started my career). Tantrum, the production company that I set up over a year ago, is looking to make another film so I am working on scripts too!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

