Arlene Tur – (Torchwood – Miracle Day – 2011).

I recently got the opportunity to talk to Arlene Tur about her role in the new series of ‘Torchwood’. Here, Arlene talks about what it was like working on the show and why she thinks the show is so popular…

Hey Arlene. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Torchwood’s new series, entitled ‘Miracle Day’ will be on both UK and US TV screens in mid-July. The trailer looks absolutely fantastic. Like ‘Children Of Earth’, there seems to be a central plot going on throughout the whole series. How would you sum it up?

Thank you! I’m ecstatic about the fans getting to see this different twist. The writers are actually very secretive about the continuous story line, but it’s a very intriguing and original plot that stays true to its original roots. It centers around the on-going excitement of criminal investigation with aliens, resulting in a great science-fiction drama.

Tell us a bit about the role you play in this series….I understand it’s a…Doctor. Not THE Doctor, but a Doctor nonetheless…

Dr. Vera  Juarez is a fun character because she’s not just stuck in the E.R. working on medical procedures. The story line really brings her into the bigger picture by involving her with the CIA. The character is pulled out of her comfort zone and thrown into the mix of intense and emotional scenes, making it a lot of fun for me. They even have me romantically involved with Rex – who’s in the CIA – and that becomes an interesting relationship.

Of course – John Barrowman and Eve Myles – continue to be a part of the show – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

It was intimidating at first! Coming onto a set that has been around for a few seasons already made me think they would be a little protective of their territory. They were all incredible though! We make sure to have a lot of fun on set together. They’re great people and I learnt a lot from them as actors. The cast and crew help make every day different and interesting. I never get bored; there’s always someone to joke around with or study from.

How big would you say ‘Doctor Who’ and ‘Torchwood’ are in the States?  Are you a fan?

Ever since I heard about my audition for ‘Torchwood’, I’ve been hooked. I knew I had to study the series and learn as much as I could before auditioning for Dr. Juarez. ‘Doctor Who’ is special because it has the title as the longest-running sci-fi program on TV – in the whole world. I think the U.S. has a huge fan base for science fiction and they’re very loyal so ‘Torchwood’, being a spin-off of ‘Doctor Who’, will have a large group of followers. It’s just aimed towards a slightly older audience.

What do you think it is about the show that makes it so popular?

The show has so many different themes – from sexuality and relationships, to aliens and the corrupting nature of power – there’s something for every sci-fi fan to be intrigued by. The story line keeps you on the edge. Even the actors barely know what’s going on next and that makes everything much more raw and believable when we’re shooting a scene.

Let’s talk about you Arlene. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I was first introduced to the modeling scene, but I had a background in PR and marketing. Once I began traveling and discovered acting, I jumped into the studies of my craft in both New York and Los Angeles. I started out in comedy, which I absolutely love. Comedy is so fun and a true gift. I like new challenges and acting gives me the ability to attack new obstacles while creating entertainment for fans. I’d love to play the role of a super-hero or villain.

What has been the most memorable moment or experience of your career so far?

Wow, that’s tough. Every day is such a memorable day for me. I’m still so humbled by the fact that I just get to be on set doing something I love every day. I’ve worked with many actors that I look up to and just taking that in every day is an amazing experience for me.

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

I’m really focused on ‘Torchwood’ right now and shooting the scenes can be really exhausting and even emotional so I need a lot of focus. I hope to try a lot of new things as an actor and take myself to the next level in my career. Enjoying the experience and leaving time for friends and family is really important to me as well.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

