Randolph Adams – (L.A. Noire – 2011).

I recently got the opportunity to talk to Randolph Adams about his role in Rockstar game ‘L.A. Noire’. Here, Randolph talks about how he got involved in the project, how he got into acting in the first place and what’s coming up for him in 2011…

Hey Randolph. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘LA Noire’ is currently in gaming stores right now. For anyone who hasn’t had the chance to play it yet, how would you sum up the plotline?

The best plotline can be had from Rockstar Games: “Amid the post-war boom of Hollywood’s Golden Age, Cole Phelps is a LAPD detective thrown headfirst into a city drowning in its own success. Corruption is rampant, the drug trade is exploding, and murder rates are at an all-time high. In his fight to climb the ranks and do what’s right, Phelps must unravel the truth behind a string of arson attacks, racketeering conspiracies and brutal murders, battling the L.A. underworld and even members of his own department to uncover a secret that could shake the city to its rotten core.”

Tell us a bit about the character you voice in the game…

Hendricks is a soldier who is outranked by the main character in my scene. He eggs on his Sgt. to get involved in something illicit. I must be vague because I signed a waiver.

Have you had chance to see the trailer / play the game yet? What do you think of the end result?

I have seen the trailer, and I think it is amazing. Very realistic. The entire process was fascinating to me. In ‘LA Noire’ we did body motion capture which was completely different to anything I’d done before.

How did you get involved with the project in the first place? What was it about the project that made you want to say ‘yes’ to it?

I was cast in CSI by Andy Henry. He remembered me from that hire and he had me in to be seen by him and Schiff /Audino casting, a great office. I enjoyed that it was something new and different, and I was happy to have the work. There is less and less work out there, and this was a fun job.

It’s got quite a ‘film noir’ feel to it – are you a fan of the 1940s crime film noir epics?

I love the film noir feel. I like the eerieness and the overly dramatic music and voice-overs. I think film noir can really open a different part of the mind.

Let’s talk a bit about you Randolph. What made you want to get into acting and voice-over in the first place?

When I saw Han Solo in ‘Star Wars’. I wanted to be him. Then I ran into Martin Sheen in the street in Washington DC, my hometown, when I was in high school. I think he was there on some sort of protest. We chatted for a while, and he encouraged me to study and train, if that is what I really wanted to do. He also said, “If you can do anything else, you should do it, because it is a long hard road even for successful actors.” This is before he was part of ‘The West Wing’. Voice-over is fun. Sometimes I feel more free. I think that TV and film gives people a chance to reflect and connect, and venture to say that most people take away the oddest lessons from their viewings, no matter what they’re watching.

What advice would you give to anyone who wants to get into either industry?

Just be willing and enthusiastic. Listen to everyone then make your own decisions. Really try to pinpoint why you want to go into this industry. And mostly, lead with what is unique to you. Show case what is best about you, and always train and learn and say yes….

What does a Randolph Adams day usually consist of?

It varies. I aways eat sleep and train.

You’ve been in many TV series – such as ‘Justified’, ‘24’, ‘Mad Men’ and ‘CSI: Crime Scene Investigation‘ – which has been your favourite to work on and why?

I love working. ‘CSI’ was fun because I got to play a regular guy dressed up as a zombie on Halloween. “Justified” was super fun and intense because it is such a tight show with a superlative ensemble cast. Everyone on that set were at the top of their game, and it was nice to be among them and acting across from the very intense and stellar Walt Goggins.

Is it true that you’re descended from Vikings?

Yes, this is true, and I e-mailed my mother to get the exact line, and she replied ” You are related to William the Conqueror, and his soldiers.” I replied “All his soldiers?” We go way back.

What else is coming up for you in 2011?

I will be acting in a world premiere of a play called “Being Cary Grant” by Richard Pagano, starring Robert Wisdom and Erin Carufel, among others. It’s opening in August at the Lillian Theatre in Hollywood. I continue to audition for new parts in TV shows and movies. I am hoping to get a role in “GI Joe: Rise of the Cobra” and that my part on “Justified” keeps on growing. Other than that planning on some surfing and enjoying the summer.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

