Chris Brochu – (Soul Surfer – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Chris Brochu about his role in Hawaii flick, ‘Soul Surfer’. Here, Chris talks about the film and its real life story, what it was like working with the cast and crew, and what’s coming up for him in 2011…

Hey Chris. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Soul Surfer’ is going to be released in UK cinemas on 17th June 2011…what is the general storyline surrounding the film? I understand it’s based on a true story?

It’s my pleasure, thanks for the opportunity to talk to you. The storyline of ‘Soul Surfer’ is truly amazing and inspirational. Many people were already familiar with the story – the gritty details of a young girl getting her arm suddenly taken from her by a shark while surfing. It’s “based” on a true story and I think the most amazing part of this film is that what you see on-screen is an accurate depiction of what really happened.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the film…

I play Timmy Hamilton, the middle child in the Hamilton clan. Timmy is the easy-going, fun-loving and level-headed part of the family. He also tends to be the comedic relief when things get a bit tense.

The film stars AnnaSophia Robb, Dennis Quaid and Helen Hunt – what was it like working on-set with them?

It was nothing short of amazing. Playing as a family really brought us close together and I couldn’t dream of a better cast. When we had free time, you would find us all at some local surf spot in Hawaii, surfing together.

A user on IMDB, OneWayFilms2000 – has said – “Soul Surfer is an inspirational film for the entire family about overcoming obstacles and turning tragedy into triumph.” – would you agree with this?

Absolutely. I think the most inspirational aspect of it is the fact that it’s a true story, what you see is what happened. There was never a day where at least one Hamilton wasn’t on the set. Bethany made sure that it stayed true to who she is; her faith, her family and the surfing community as well.

Since the film is all about surfing – in your opinion – where are the best places to surf in the world?

Well, so far for me it’s been Hawaii, but I plan to travel and try to find a place that gives it a run for its money.

Let’s talk a bit about you Chris. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

Well, to be honest I was never really interested in acting. I was playing hockey and was hoping to get into college on a hockey scholarship. But as we all know plans change and life takes you on all kinds of adventures you never would expect. I went on an audition in Florida for a retro flashback, booked it and thought to myself: “Wow this is incredibly easy”. My whole family ended up coming out to LA with me for pilot season. We were only supposed to stay for 3 months but cut to 5 years later and we’re still here. It’s been a crazy ride and to be honest that’s what I love about it. I am extremely blessed to be working and to have come this far.

What advice would you give to people wanting to pursue a career in acting?

If you love it, work hard, do your best, be respectful and enjoy every moment. Same thing goes for just about anything in life….

What does a Chris Brochu day usually consist of?

Well, if you ask anyone who knows me they’ll tell you I’m not one to waste a day. If I don’t have any meetings or auditions you can find me anywhere, whether it be running with my dog, rock climbing, backpacking or doing interviews like I’m doing right now. I’m all about living each day to the fullest.

On your IMDB listing, it says your first ever on-screen role was on ‘Hannah Montana’ – what was it like working with Miley Cyrus and the crew?

It seems like I can’t go through any interview or audition without this coming up. It wasn’t my first on-screen role actually but it was my first role in front of a live audience. It was pretty nerve-racking but everyone was really great and I had a good time.

What’s coming up for you in 2011? I hear you’ve just finished two projects, ‘Truth Be Told’ and ‘Lemonade Mouth’…

Yes, it’s true…both have premiered and have done pretty well, especially ‘Lemonade Mouth’. In fact, Disney just announced that they are making ‘Lemonade Mouth 2’, so stay tuned.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

