Tarina Pouncy – (Larry Crowne – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Tarina Pouncy about her role as a Team Leader in Tom Hanks’ new film ‘Larry Crowne’ – here, Tarina talks about the film, how she got into acting and what’s coming up for her in 2011…

Hey Tarina. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Larry Crowne’ will be in cinemas worldwide as of 1st July 2011. What is the general plotline of the film?

It’s a dramedy about an everyday guy who reinvents himself by going back to college after being fired from a job that he’s had most of his life.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play the role of Team Leader Monica. I am an employee on Larry Crowne’s (Tom Hanks’ character) team so I share his enthusiasm for the job at U-Mart where we work.

How would you say this film is different from other comedies released this year?

This film is different in that it’s inspirational to anyone who has made or thought about making a personal change in their life, either on their own or because of circumstances beyond their control.

The film stars Tom Hanks, Julia Roberts and Sarah Mahoney – what was it working with the cast and crew on-set.

It was a great atmosphere on the set. I have always been a fan of Tom Hanks so it was a joy to work with him as an actor and director. He kept everyone laughing and was very approachable.

The film revolves around Tom Hanks’ character going back to college – if you could go back to college again, what subject would you like to learn?

Wow, that’s a tough one. There’s so much I still want to learn… perhaps something to do with fashion or music. I love clothes but am terrible at picking them out. And I can be at a karaoke bar all night but will still slip up and sing off-key.

Let’s talk a bit about you Tarina – what made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I have degrees in Business but always hung out with the theatre students in college because I thought they were so cool. I also grew up around the corner from a movie theatre and was there every weekend. I fell in love with movies and how people and music could evoke such an array of emotions.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the film and TV industry?

I would advise people to get involved in as many aspects of the industry as possible, get a solid foundation of training – remember that it is a business and you should only do it if it’s either something you are really good at or truly love.

You’ve been in a number of shorts – how important do you think the indie industry is nowadays?

I think it’s very important. More important I think is producing your own work. There are so many platforms available to have your work seen. People should take advantage of those opportunities while they’re still out there.

What has been the most interesting piece of local / national news you’ve heard in the last month?

It’s interesting that this film has an educational component to it because I’ve been following stories about budget cuts for higher education in California. The allocation of funds seems to be so skewed in the U.S. It’s still very difficult for people to afford college and even more difficult to repay the loans most have to apply for to attend.

What does a Tarina Pouncy day usually consist of?

Malt-o-Meal or a protein shake (which has recently become my substitution for milkshakes—thank goodness!) to get me started in the morning, followed by improv classes, auditions, trips to the library for free movies, rehearsals, reading, seeing or performing in plays and phoning friends and family back home.

What’s coming up for you in 2011? I hear you’re currently filming ‘Fuzz Track City’ – what can you tell us about this project?

I’m most proud of my work on ‘Fuzz Track City’, which is a retro/noir style film where I play the estranged wife of a down and out detective. I’ve learnt some boxing skills that I show off on-screen too. I’m also very excited about a web series I’m in called “The Big Dick Mike Show.” It won an award at the LA Web Festival this past March and is an official selection in the Marseille Web Fest in France this October.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

