Nick Jones Jr. – (Green Lantern – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Nick Jones Jr. about his role in ‘Green Lantern’. Here, Nick talks about the character he plays in the movie, his love of comic books and what he would do with Hal’s ring for a day….

 

Hey Nick, thanks for taking the time out to speak to me. ‘Green Lantern’ will be coming out worldwide on 17th June 2011.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the film…

John is a U.S. Marine and architect who replaces Tomar-Re after he dies. He can be over-confident at times which I can personally pin-point to his days in the Marines. We think we can do any and everything all the time. He also has a great sense of nobility and loyalty that stems from those same Marine Corps roots that make him the only person you want to go to battle with and the last person you want to go to war against.

You’re a comic book fan – are you a fan of the ‘Green Lantern‘ comic book series?

I am definitely a comic book fan. I have met so many great people in the industry and have made some good friends. Ethan Van Sciver has been sort of a big brother for me during this whole process. Just his knowledge and wisdom have been really helpful. I have been reading ‘War of the Green Lanterns’ and I think John may have a new nickname if it hasn’t already been labelled to him yet. I’m thoroughly convinced only a Marine can fight a planet and win. I also just recently went on a comic book shopping spree. I bought a few gems – ‘The Infinity Gauntlet’ mini-series and the ‘All-Star Batman’ run. Someone please remind Frank Miller and Jim Lee that two issues are missing. The art in this book is amazing by the way.

In your mind, do you think fans will be satisfied with the translation from comic book to screen? Do you think that there are a few things that fans will nitpick at?

I think the fans have been pretty receptive of the film. It’s fun and clean so the whole family can enjoy it which is a plus. I think that was the goal going in – to have a film that can appeal to everyone across the scale. I think we did that.

Visually, how would you say ‘Green Lantern’ is different from other comic-book films such as ‘X-Men’ and ‘Fantastic Four’?

Half the cast is CGI! I think the only other film that deals with a similar obstacle is ‘Transformers’. Being able to create a believable exchange between a real person and a CGI character is a major challenge that most films don’t have to worry about. In our case we have a bunch of alien Lanterns that have tons of screen time – so the team had their work cut out for them.

The film stars Ryan Reynolds, Blake Lively, Mark Strong, Peter Sarsgaard and Temuera Morrison – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

It was huge learning experience for me. Getting the opportunity to watch those guys perform in person and see how they prep and react under stress was really a chance for me to take notes and be a student again. Hopefully in about ten years I can do the same for someone like me that’s trying to break into the industry.

If you had Hal’s ring – what would you do with it for a day?

I would rather have Tomar-Re’s ring. I would probably fly over to the war zone and help any of my fellow Marines that were pinned down in a firefight. After that, maybe take Meaghan Rath on a picnic on the moon.

Let’s talk a bit about you Nick. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

My grandfather. He had a super movie library and I would spend my days watching movies over and over. I remember when I first watched ‘Predator’ on video. I think I watched it five times back to back that day. I love that movie. I didn’t get a chance to pursue acting until high school though. I wish I could have started sooner but I didn’t grow up in a place that supported the arts like that.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in acting?

I tell people all the time that patience is what you need to make it. My friend Kody Chamberlain preaches that to me all the time. If you don’t feel comfortable with something don’t do it. Keep your standards because your image is everything.

What does a Nick Jones Jr day usually consist of?

Man, I’m a pretty boring guy. I’m up around 5am every morning to work out with the Marines on base. I’m off work around 4:30pm and then out on auditions if I have any. After that I’m back at my office writing and brain-storming.

What have been the most memorable moments or experiences of your career so far? I imagine ‘Green Lantern’ must be high up there….

The people. Everyone I’ve met so far means so much to me. They are helping me become a man in this world and I really appreciate them taking the time to coach and give advice to a small town kid with big dreams. Ethan Van Sciver, Cory Smith, Don Kramer, Monty, Mongoose, Michael Champion and the crew. Those guys look out for me. Thank you.

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

On July 7th, ‘Weather Wars’ will air on the SyFy network. I play a FBI agent that always gets his man. I’m currently writing two comic stories and a cartoon script so things are hectic but fun. I’m surrounded by some great talent and knowledge so I’m confident things will pan out.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

