Andra Nechita – (Bad Teacher – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Andra Nechita about her role as Gaby in ‘Bad Teacher’. Here, Andra talks about the film, her worst crime at school and how she got into acting….

Hey Andra. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Bad Teacher’ will be released in cinemas on 17th June 2011. What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

It’s absolutely a pleasure. ‘Bad Teacher’ is a comedy centered on a foul – mouthed junior high teacher, who, after being dumped by her sugar daddy, begins to woo one of her colleagues, and this creates problems with a well-loved teacher.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the film….

I play the role of Gaby, one of the three popular girls. I would say my character is more of a sensitive one… she cries easily over the smallest things. Gaby is also the one who would probably try to defend herself in a situation even if she’s in the ‘mean’ group.

The film stars Cameron Diaz, Justin Timberlake and Jason Segel – what was it like working with them and being on-set?

Working with Cameron Diaz, Justin Timberlake, and Jason Segel was absolutely phenomenal. They are such great role models, and wonderful people. They are so down to earth and so real, but at the same time always focused! It was so much fun being on set with them, and being on set in general. It was an amazing experience and everyone bonded so well, it was a blast!

If you had the choice of the three above as teachers for a day – who would you choose and why?

Oh, that’s a difficult choice to make! I would probably want Justin Timberlake to be my teacher for a day!! He’s so funny and … well, he’s Justin Timberlake!!

What’s the worst crime you’ve committed at school?

Well I haven’t committed any real crimes at school, but there was this one time when I skipped class and just walked around with my best friend, Haley. We were supposed to be in Geometry, and there was a dance show happening the next period. We told our math teacher that we were ‘signed out’, only to find out we weren’t by our dance teacher later on. We just walked around the whole school, and hid in the bathrooms, texting and fixing our make up.

Let’s talk a bit about you Andra – what made you want to get into acting in the first place?

Honestly, I never ever had the thought of getting into this business. Before I moved to Los Angeles, from Europe, I always had this burning passion to be a singer, and I’d show it by singing to my family pretending to be at my own concerts.. but then I moved to L.A and my uncle suggested I tried some acting classes, and when I did, I instantly just became attached to it. I realized it was something I really loved and wanted to do. It’s something I want to continue doing for a long time.

You’re a young teen – so what advice would you give to others who wanted to pursue a career in acting?

I think you should always believe in yourself and never be afraid to be ‘different.’ And never ever let anyone put you down, because I believe that no one should have the ability to make you stop doing what you love. I think you should always put 110% out there. If it’s something you love doing, don’t be afraid to act out, it’s acting after all. Acting is the one reason you have for acting like someone else for a day. And just have fun, and be professional. But it’s all based on you; if you have the passion to do it, don’t ever give up, success only comes if you work hard. Don’t be afraid to put everything at risk, but be afraid of the regrets you might have if you never try. Everything happens for a reason, so just believe in yourself and have fun!

What does a Andra Nechita day usually consist of?

An Andra Nechita day usually consists of waking up, at around 6:30 A.M, and then spending about 30 minutes getting ready and then going to school. In my spare time, I write songs, play guitar, work on screenplays, sing, work on my photography skills, work on my dancing skills, do homework, projects, hang out with my little brother, go on auditions, or whatever else decides to pop up! ‘

What roles would you like to do in the future?

I love playing all roles because I love the feeling of having the chance to portray so many different characters. But I especially love dramatic roles and action movies, so maybe playing a ‘spy’ would be super fun!

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

I have ‘Bad Teacher’ coming out and then I have ‘Cats Dancing on Jupiter!’ I recently just recorded a song with Bianca Scaglione, that’s one thing I’m super thrilled for! Then during the summer, I’m going to Romania to visit my family, I’m starting high school, and I get to start learning everything necessary for passing the DMV test next summer, so I’m really excited for all that! And I’m also just going to really focus on acting, and because I found that I was able to write a 100 page script out of the blue, I also want to keep on writing whenever I can. It’s going to be a fun year!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

