Bruce Lawrence – (Got To Run – 2011).

I recently got to talk to Bruce Lawrence about his role in ‘Got To Run’. Here, Bruce talks about the film, what his favourite UK town is and how he got into acting….

Hey Bruce. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Got To Run’ will be coming out in selected cinemas on 14th June 2011. What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

‘Got To Run’ follows the life of lingerie sales woman, Sarah Macguire. She realises that her life on the back-burner and that she needs to move on. Her boss is an idiot, her boyfriend is also an idiot and she realises that there is more to life than busting her gut and taking care of her un-appreciative boyfriend. 

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the film…

I play the character of Jimmy. A very knowledgable Scottish barmen. Whilst on the road trying to sell her lingerie, Sarah comes upon a bar where she meets me and I give her several options that will change her life forever. She just has to decide whether or not to take my advice……she does of course.

From the outset, what was it about the film that made you want to become part of it?

This is the third film that I have been in with this production company and when I heard about it I knew I wanted to be involved. Mainly because the role, in my mind anyway, was a very pivotal one to the story. Almost like a God character that appears to Sarah just when she most needs me most. The other reason was because the character was Scottish. I love accents and absolutely love the opportunity to put one on. Especially Scottish as my family are all from God’s own country.

From the trailer, it looks like the film is shot in a variety of different UK locations – what is your favourite UK city, town or landmark and why?

The film really does do a lot for British tourism, showing some of the most stunning landscapes going. I have been lucky enough to see all over the UK and I would have to say the most beautiful of all places would have to be around Glen Coe which features in the film. As for my favourite city, that’s easy. London is without a doubt the best city in the world. It’s where I’ve grown up and there is always something to do. It has its bad points too, but what city doesn’t.

Let’s talk a bit about you Bruce – what made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I have always wanted to get into acting since I was at school. I remember being in a panto in juniors and loving the feeling of being in front of everyone and hearing them clap afterward, even though it was a slightly biased audience what with it being parents and all. I also wanted to join the Royal Marines from a young age and I did that first. I spent five years in the Corps and decided that as I had been acting the clown for those five years I would turn my hand to acting and try to make some money from it. I absolutely love film and everything that goes into making them. Nothing beats the feeling of when it is all going really smoothly. It often doesn’t last though…..

What advice would you give to UK actors trying to get into the industry?

I’m not sure I would give any advice to people wanting to get into acting as I think that it has to be done in your own way, that way you can appreciate it more when you get work and it isn’t a replica journey of somebody else. As an actor your own personal experiences are what sets you apart from every other actor out there, and there are a hell of a lot of us. But if I had to give any sort of advice, I would just say be prepared to get a lot of rejection and believe you can do it. That being said, just believing you can do it isn’t enough. You have to be ready to work hard and be persistent. Fail to prepare, prepare to fail. Also have a main source of income as it is a small few that make a living solely from acting.

What does a Bruce Lawrence day usually consist of?

I am also a personal trainer, so a typical day for me when not filming, is to be up at around 0530hrs. I will have two / three clients in the morning before 10am. Then I will go through any scripts that I have going on for a couple of hours. Then it’s time to change my hat and do another job that pays the bills, til 1700hrs. Then it’s back into personal trainer mode in the evening when I have more clients – and I finish around 2200hrs. Then it’s a case of ground-hog day until an acting job comes in.

You’ve been in a number of UK produced TV series such as ‘Midsomer Murders’, ‘Doctor Who’, ‘Casualty’ and ‘State Of Play’ – which has been your favourite to work on and why?

I’ve loved all the jobs that I have had. ‘Doctor Who’ was great as the audience is massive. I had no idea. But I would have to go with ‘Casualty’ being my favourite as the cast and crew make you feel so welcome. Some people have been there for over 20 years and it just feels like a family on set.

What’s coming up for you in 2011?

This year is shaping up to be the best on record for me. I have just been attached to two scripts that are absolutely awesome. One is called ‘Dark Harvest’, set in 1941 where the RAF discover things not of this world flying around Scotland. And the other is a series set in the 60’s. I play a factual character from the Flying Squad, delivering my own methods of justice on the sleazy underworld of Soho. I can’t say anymore than that at present though. Sorry.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

