Christine Elise – (Prom – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Christine Elise about her role in new Disney film ‘Prom’. Here, Christine talks about her character, how she got into acting and about her two new upcoming projects….

Hey Christine. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. Obviously we’ve got you here to talk about Disney’s new release, ‘Prom’. The film’s plotline basically surrounds a bunch of students preparing for their high-school prom and the events – good and bad – leading up to the night.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the film…

I play Sandra Richter, the mother to brooding outsider Jesse and his little brother Charlie. She is a working class, single mother. She is very close to & supportive of her boys.

A user from IMDB has reviewed the film, saying that: ‘Prom is a movie that will make teenage girls go gaga and laugh at almost every scene. If they are not laughing, then there is a good chance that they will be swooning over the guy leads in this movie or awing at the cuteness this movie does have”- would you agree with this?

I agree that they girls will go gaga over Thomas McDonell. He is gorgeous. The other boys in the film are no slouches either and the girls are both lovely and relatable. The film is a comedy with a lot of heart so in the moments not targeted at comedy – I believe the audience will be feeling for the plights and disappointments of the characters.

How do you think the film differs from other Disney related romantic teen films such as ‘High School Musical’?

No idea – as I have not seen any of the other Disney films.

Do you remember what happened on your prom night?

I didn’t attend my prom. But – the first film set I ever worked on was as an extra in the prom scene in the movie ‘Pretty In Pink’. That was fun!

Let’s talk a bit about you Christine. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I’ve always wanted to be involved in filmmaking – as a director – since high school. Film school was too expensive and took more time than I could find – since I had to work a full-time job to support myself. I took acting classes once – approaching it from a director’s perspective – but discovered I enjoyed acting more than I would ever have guessed. I decided then that my shyness need not be a hurdle and that I could learn about directing while I worked as an actress.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to follow a career in acting?

I would not advise anyone to pursue acting if fame or money are their goals. These things elude 99% of even working actors. If you love being creative and collaborating – then – take acting classes and be as true to yourself as you can be. Your individuality is all you have to separate you from the thousands of others who share your dream. And remember – no matter how much you want it or how hard you work – someone else out there wants it more and is working even harder than you. It is a very competitive industry.

What does a Christine Elise day usually consist of?

I get up and walk my dogs. I go to the gym or hike in the Hollywood Hills. I do something creative most days – whether that be writing, working on getting my short film (‘Bathing and the Single Girl’) into film festivals or programming my own film festival – the Waterfront Film Festival.

You’ve had recurring roles in some great TV series – such as ‘ER’, ‘L.A. Firefighters’, and ‘Beverly Hills 90210′ – which has been your favourite TV show to work on and why?

‘ER’ was amazing because of the intelligence level of the material. The show was so emotional and had so many unexpected storylines – it was an exciting place to work at. ’90210′ was a fun show and a phenomenon at the time I first appeared on it. It was my first experience with screaming fans and it was where I met one of my best and oldest friends – Jason Priestley.

What has been the most memorable moment of your career so far?

I guess ’90210′ because it advanced me further in one go than any other job. It was surreal to go from being just an unknown working actress to an actress that might be found on a teen magazine cover.

You’ve just finished two projects – ‘Route 30, Too!” and “Finding Hope” – what can you tell us about these projects?

‘Route 30, Too’ is the sequel to ‘Route 30. It is a backwoods comedy, ensemble piece set it rural Pennsylvania. ‘Finding Hope’ is a sequel to an award-winning short called ‘The Sacrifice’. It is about a polygamist and the agony of a teen bride he acquired.

What else is coming up for you in 2011?

I am doing the festival circuit with my directorial debut: www.BathingandtheSingleGirl.com. I also just completed a novel based on the short too. I am hoping to sell it this summer.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

