Sebastian Street – (Age Of Heroes – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Sebastian Street about his role in ‘Age Of Heroes’. Here, Sebastian talks about his character, what it was like working with Sean Bean and Danny Dyer on-set, and about his new project, ‘Airborne’….

 
Hey Sebastian – thanks for taking out the time to talk to me. ‘Age Of Heroes’ is in UK cinemas right now. For anyone who has yet to see the film, it’s based on the true story of the formation of Ian Fleming’s team of commandos in WWII. Tell us a bit about the character you play in the film…
 
I play Colonel Archer who’s responsible for the Royal Military Prison where convicted British servicemen are kept for their sentence. Archer is very young to be a Colonel and its clear in the story that he’s also very ineffectual. It would be likely that he was given this post through some nepotistic connections to keep him out of harm’s way during the war. Archer is introduced into the story when Jones (Sean Bean) comes to the prison to get Brightling (Stephen Walters) out. Then all hell breaks loose when Rains (Danny Dyer) takes Jones hostage to make an escape. It was a very exciting and fun scene to do and hopefully that comes through in the film.
 
What made you want to become part of this project?
 
Guns, tanks, planes and explosions! I never really grew up I guess, so the idea of playing soldiers with Sean and Danny, appealed somewhat. Going to war for real is clearly a very different story though and I have great admiration for our Armed Forces; much braver men and women do this stuff for real.
 
Did you get a lot of training before you took on the role?
 
Actually no, not on this project, but the requirements of my character didn’t really demand it. I have on other projects spent a lot of time in military training so its something I can fall into quite easily.
 
The likes of Sean Bean, Danny Dyer and James D’Arcy are in the film – what was it working with them on-set? You worked with Danny on ‘The Last Seven’ didn’t you?
 
Unfortunately I didn’t have any scenes with James but yes you are right I did work with Danny on ‘The Last Seven’. It was fantastic to work with him again, and on something so different. He’s a laugh to work with, both on-set and in the pub at the end of the evening. Similarly with Sean it was a pleasure and I would like to work with him again.
 
Supposedly, there have been charity screenings held in the UK recently at a number of cinemas – where the ticket proceeds will be going to the ForceSelect Foundation – what are your views on that?  Do you think more companies and film-makers should adopt this idea?
 
I think this is unquestionably an excellent idea. Ideally films are meant to entertain, educate and potentially make a difference. In the case of ‘Age of Heroes’, I am very happy that some of the proceeds will directly make a difference in the lives of our real heroes.
 
Let’s talk about you Sebastian. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?
 
Well, I never wanted to be an actor when I was a child, in fact I was extremely shy and during school plays I hid backstage. I started studying karate when I was 12 and I think that helped with my confidence. Over time I just thought ‘Yup I can do that’. My parents weren’t all that chuffed with the notion but I auditioned for drama school and got a scholarship, I think that gave them a little faith.
 
What does a Sebastian Street day usually consist of?
 
Very varied, but generally it falls into two categories: 1) working on a film, and 2) working on getting a film to work on. Pretty one track minded but if I’m not filming I don’t feel satisfied, I am definitely happiest working on a character and on set.
 
What has been the best project you’ve worked on / your most favourite moment or experience so far?
 
I’ve just finished filming ‘Airborne’ which is a horror/thriller set on a plane. It was directed and produced by two good friends Dominic Burnes and Simon Philips, who are both extremely talented and it’s always a pleasure to work alongside them. On this occasion I was required to act opposite Mark Hamill, it was a privilege to work with such a legend! We had a lot of fun working on our scenes, playing around with things and trying to make them better. He is a wonderfully giving actor and a pleasure to work with. I was actually a little taken a back by how generous he was with his time. By complete coincidence, unbeknownst to any of the cast or crew, there was a party going on one evening very close to the set just as we were wrapping. Mark and I were in his trailer chatting about his comic book ‘The Dark Pearl’ and when I left I noticed lots of people in fancy dress walking nearby. What were most of them dressed as? Wait for it….YES! Storm Troopers, Jedis and even a Darth Vader. It sounds unbelievable I know, but as about a hundred die-hard ‘Star Wars’ fans walked past I had Luke Skywalker five feet behind me in a trailer. Well obviously I didn’t let them know, but later I found out the party was for someone who was extremely ill, I believe they were suffering with cancer and it was their birthday. Well Mark, who was due back in London to go to the theatre had phoned his wife to say he would be late. When he found out about the party he dropped in and spent an hour with them shaking hands and signing autographs.  Amazing, truly, after all these years he has so much time for his fans and for answering the same questions over and over again. He is an inspiration.
 
What else is coming up for you in 2011?
 
I have another war film called ‘Grace and Danger’ coming out soon – where I’m opposite Tom Felton (Harry Potter) and Tom Sizemore (Saving Private Ryan) and then I’m working on a UFO film with Dom and Simon, I’m not allowed to say too much though, so watch this space.
Thanks for the interview!
 
Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

