Jemma Bolt – (The Hike – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Jemma Bolt about her role in ‘The Hike’. Here, Jemma talks about the film, how she got into acting and her love for Percy Pigs…

Hey Jemma. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘The Hike’ will be coming to UK cinemas soon – what is the general plotline surrounding the film?

Five girls that have known each other since school and been firm friends ever since, decide to go on a girly bonding trip to help their friend Kate, get over the death of her boyfriend who was hurt during combat fighting for his country. When they get to the holiday destination things don’t go quite according to plan.

Tell us a bit about your character in the movie…

Charlie is ex army and Kate is her best friend. She’s a bit tougher than Elli, Leanne and Torri so they tend to follow her lead, she also loves to be a bit of a joker!

The film stars Tamar Hassan (Kick Ass), Barbara Nedeljakova (Hostel), Shauna McDonald (The Descent) and Ben Loyd-Holmes (Torchwood) – what was it like working with them?

I didn’t get a chance to meet Shauna as I had no scenes with her which is sometimes the way, but they’re all great people and there was always a good vibe on set and I see the others fairly often socially which is always fun.

What was it like working with director Rupert Bryan?

He’s a lot of fun to work with and a bit mad at times but mad is good I think! He’s clearly a great talent as he has two award-winning films under his belt and I’m sure they’ll be more to come…

If you could hike anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?

There are so many places in the world that I want to explore, not necessarily on a hiking trip though, I can’t say I’m a keen hiker, unless it involves shopping – then I could hike all day long!

Let’s talk a bit about you Jemma. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I think watching Michael Jackson music videos definitely spurred me into wanting to perform from an early age, apparently I used to try to copy the moves before I could even walk! So my parents enrolled me into dance classes and the natural progression was to act on stage then drama school and so on……I still can’t moonwalk though ;(

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in acting?

Don’t give up – if it’s what you really want to do then learn as much as you possibly can about every aspect of the business so you get taken seriously.

What does a Jemma Bolt day usually consist of?

Everyday is so varied which is why I love what I do, but there’s always time for a little run, sweets are a big part of my life especially ‘Percy Pigs’ from M&S. I’m always listening to music either at home or on my I-phone between meetings, I love dance music.

What else is coming up for you in 2011?

I’ve got a few things going on this year – I’m in another feature film which is in development, plus a TV show I’ve written is now in the pilot stages. I love going to festivals, so I’m gonna hit a few of those and generally enjoy the sun while he’s out to play!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

