Black Eyed Peas At The Superbowl…..Should Be Good No?

Yesterday, the US broadcasted it’s annual NFL Foozeball game to the world and during it’s half-time show, the Black Eyed Peas performed their ‘un-timely’ greatest hits for 10 minutes – I Got A Feeling, The Time, Pump It, Where’s The Love and Boom Boom Pow….with support from Usher and Slash.

I’ll be honest. I have no idea about the rules or gameplay of American Football, so I didn’t watch the actual game itself. I was however, alerted to the half-time show by a friend of mine in passing, as each year it’s basically seen as one of these ‘huge events’. After watching it, I was in shock.

I’d like to address a few things about the above clip….

  • All of the dancers around the stage are effectively getting a free Black Eyed Peas concert for doing literally nothing. I’m British, and I have no idea what their role actually is. Can anyone help?
  • Adding to this, the dance routine looks like a cross between Tron Legacy and the Hitler Youth. Especially during 11:23.
  • How much did it cost to outfit everyone with LED light suits?!
  • The guy dressed in silver at: 10:58 is probably thinking – ‘Hi Mum, I’m at the Superbowl’….we can’t see your face dude no matter how much you stare at the camera. And your application to become a Cyberman in the next series of Doctor Who has been rejected. Sorry. The cardboard box look isn’t what we’re looking for.
  • Americans don’t know what a circle is. No matter how much they try to form a human ring around the stage, they just can’t do it….
  • Seriously, what is Fergie wearing? Honey…this is a Superbowl half-time show, not Babestation….
  • Why are half of their mikes not switched on during the whole thing!? You can hear them being faded in and out.
  • Why is Slash not singing? I thought ‘Sweet Child Of Mine’ was the song that he was known for….
  • Usher – seriously – sing. Don’t pretend you’re on Singstar, sing…..in tune. And actually perform.
  • Will.I.Am – don’t change the lyrics to one of your number 1 hits to be political – you just look like a right knob-end.
  • I’ve only ever heard two people sing in the Black Eyed Peas to date – Will.I.Am and Fergie….the other two I’ve just discovered sound like emos crossed with Stephen Hawking’s voicebox. Awful…

Overall, I thought the performance could have been done a whole lot better. I am a fan of the Black Eyed Peas, and since they released that terrible song that crosses Patrick Swayze with a dictaphone, I’ve begun to lose faith in them. This has only infuriated me further….sorry guys, you’re becoming old news….

Will.I.Am says – “That was mega” at the end….you probably know what my response will be…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. juie
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 04:04:18

    Here in the States the above mentioned performance was not appreciated either…awful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

