Eirian Cohen – (Amazing Killer Audition – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Eirian Cohen about her role in new film, ‘Awesome Killer Audition’. Here, Eirian talks about how she got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

Hey Eirian. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Awesome Killer Audition’.

Thank you Matt. It is a pleasure to talk to you.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

‘Awesome Killer Audition’ is about an audition for a movie which goes horribly wrong when one contestant can’t take no for an answer and decides to take matters into his own hands. A mix between ‘X-Factor’ and ‘Die Hard’, bringing together comedy and action.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

My character is Meleine Fox. She comes across as being a bit of a party animal but is nice and friendly enough. There is, however, so much more to this character than I can reveal right now. You will understand when you see the film!

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I had worked for Philip Gardiner, the director, before on a film called ‘Dark Watchers – The Women In Black’.  When he asked me to be in another, I didn’t hesitate! I love working on his films. He scares the crap out of me half the time while filming but it’s such an adrenaline rush that I keep going back for more. Every time he does something I think “Ok, he can’t shock me any more than he already has done” but every time, that’s exactly what he does.

How would you say this film is different and unique? 

This film is different to any film I have ever seen. It is a brand new concept. The reason for this is that it was shot in one long, continuous take and was improvised from beginning to end. There were no rehearsals so no-one knew what was going to happen, not even the director.  Philip Gardiner had filled Rudy Barrow in on the general plot and it was up to him to create the right atmosphere and the right outcome for the film. Neither of them knew how the rest of us would react or what we would be bringing into the film. We had no time to prepare and really think about what we were going to do. The reactions in this film are real.

The film stars Charlotte Armitage, Rudy Barrow, your good self, Comatone, Wes Dolan, Michelle Gent and Rob Ireland – with Philip Gardiner onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

This group of people are absolutely fantastic to work with. I had worked with some of them previously on ‘Dark Watchers – The Women In Black’ and have just yesterday finished another film called ‘Exorcist Chronicles’ with Philip Gardiner, Michelle Gent – (who was producing this time) and Rudy Barrow and what I can tell you about them is that they are bonkers. We have so much fun on set and hardly stop laughing! They are all genuinely nice people as well and I am privileged to have worked with such a talented, down to Earth and generally awesome bunch of people.

Let’s talk a bit about you Eirian. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

Why would anyone not want to get into this industry? It’s fun, exciting and always an adventure. I get the biggest adrenaline rush from acting and meet amazing people. I’ve worked in some boring jobs where I counted down the hours until it was time to go home. I wanted more; I wanted a job that I would look forward to instead of being filled with dread. Life is too short to be spending your time doing something you are not passionate about. I love movies, so it made sense to me to get into film.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

Be patient, don’t take knock backs personally, accept and learn from constructive criticism, distance yourself from negative people and most importantly of all never give up.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

Reason To Exist by Wes Dolan. I can’t stop listening to it!

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Russell Brand because he has erased the line between being insane and being a genius. He would really bring some madness into the equation. Kurt Cobain because he was a rock legend and would keep us thoroughly entertained with his incredible music and Jesus, to turn the water into wine.

On your off-days, how do you like to kick back and relax?

Relax? Wow… now that’s something I don’t do very often. I guess my idea of relaxing is to have a mad workout session then watch some movies or catch up with friends and party!

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

Everything has just gone crazy this year! Already I have been in ‘Twisted – The Devil In Her Mind’, ‘The Eschatrilogy’, ‘Street Dance 3 – All Stars’ and ‘Exorcist Chronicles’ as well as ‘Awesome Killer Audition’. I truly have no idea how I have managed to fit it all in! Coming up next is a new TV series called ‘Undercover Cop’ where I play the role of head secretary, Jasmine Gold and I am soon to start my role in ‘Molly Crows’. Both of which I am very excited about! After that, I have a few things in the pipeline so watch this space!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48,354 other followers

